[Library Media] Please say thanks

Angie Woodring WoodringA at ogdensd.org
Fri Mar 15 14:50:53 MDT 2013

Thank you, Sheryl, for your continued efforts to advocate for us and our libraries.  Your willingness to volunteer your time is very much appreciated.  As part of the UELMA board, I also want to express the board’s appreciation for what you and PALS do for the students and libraries of Utah.  Merci!  Gracias! Danke!

Angie Woodring
Odyssey Elementary
Library Media Teacher
UELMA President

From: library-media-bounces at lists.uen.org [mailto:library-media-bounces at lists.uen.org] On Behalf Of sharyl smith
Sent: Friday, March 15, 2013 2:01 PM
To: library-media at lists.uen.org
Subject: [Library Media] Please say thanks

Good News!
Again, at the close of the Utah Legislative Session, we can say "thanks"! The line item for "school library books and electronic resources" was funded at the requested level, the same as last year, $550,000.
Please say thanks and, in the very same sentence, invite legislators to visit your school library. They need to see firsthand that we embrace technology and students do more than check out books­.­­­­!
By contacting legislators, you will be re-enforcing the idea that we are a group with an important role to play in children's education. Also, we are becoming known as the people who express appreciation. Not everybody does.

I appreciate all of you who recently responded to my informal telephone survey, asking how you spent this appropriation last year and I am thankful to all of you who have emailed legislators in the past to say thank you and to everyone who will respond to this request now:
Please say thanks this weekend. I appreciate your help immensely.
Best wishes,
Sharyl Smith

Here are the legislators, with their addresses:    PLEASE USE YOUR HOME COMPUTER.

The Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee members who have supported school libraries in the past and continue to do so, or are new to the committee and gave me ample time to meet one-on-one to explain our needs and were positive in their responses:

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe  jbriscoe at le.utah.gov<mailto:jbriscoe at le.utah.gov>

Rep. LaVar Christensen  lavarchristensen at utah.gov<mailto:lavarchristensen at utah.gov>

Rep. Steve Eliason        seliason at utah.gov<mailto:seliason at utah.gov>

Rep. Francis D. Gibson fgibson at utah.gov<mailto:fgibson at utah.gov>

Rep. Stephen G. Handy stevehandy at utah.gov<mailto:stevehandy at utah.gov>

Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard     lhillyard at utahsenate.org<mailto:lhillyard at utahsenate.org>

Sen. Patricia Jones      pjones at utahsenate.org<mailto:pjones at utahsenate.org>

Rep. Michael S. Kennedy mikekennedy at le.utah.gov<mailto:mikekennedy at le.utah.gov>

Rep. Bradley G. Last, Co-Chair blast at le.utah.gov<mailto:blast at le.utah.gov>

Rep. David E. Lifferth dliffe­­rth at le.utah.gov<mailto:dlifferth at le.utah.gov>
Rep. Carol Spackman Moss      csmoss at utah.gov<mailto:csmoss at utah.gov>

Sen. Aaron Osmond  aosmond at le.utah.gov<mailto:aosmond at le.utah.gov> (He won my "Best Listener" Award for 2012.)

Rep. Kraig Powell       kraigpowell at le.utah.gov<mailto:kraigpowell at le.utah.gov>

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson, Co-Chair              hstephenson at le.utahsenate.org<mailto:hstephenson at utahsenate.org>
Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher dthatcher at utahsenate.org<mailto:dthatcher at utahsenate.org>

Sen. Stephen H. Urquhardt  surquhart at le.utah.gov<mailto:surquhart at le.utah.gov>
      He earned my "Best Listener" Award for 2013.

The Executive Appropriations Committee members (and legislative leadership) who have been especially supportive:
Speaker Rebecca Lockhart             blockhart at utah.gov<mailto:blockhart at utah.gov>

Rep. Mel Brown Co-Chair            melbrown at utah.gov<mailto:melbrown at utah.gov>

Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck            rchouck at utah.gov<mailto:rchouck at utah.gov>

Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove   tcosgrove at utah.gov<mailto:tcosgrove at utah.gov> As always, our hero! Tim advises, helps in year-long planning, speaks out, and urges his colleagues to support.

Sen. Gene Davis  gdavis at le.utah.gov<mailto:gdavis at le.utah.gov>

Rep. Greg Hughes      greghughes at utah.gov<mailto:greghughes at utah.gov>

Sen. Patricia Jones      pjones at utahsenate.org<mailto:pjones at utahsenate.org>

Sen. Karen Mayne      kmayne at le.utah.gov<mailto:kmayne at le.utah.gov>

Sen. Luz Robles          lrobles at le.utah.gov<mailto:lrobles at le.utah.gov>

Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig  jseelig at le.utah.gov<mailto:jseelig at le.utah.gov>

Other legislators, many with whom I’ve met, who, individually or as a group, have been supportive.
Rep. Patrice Arent      parent at utah.gov<mailto:parent at utah.gov>
Rep. Susan Duckworth   sduckworth at utah.gov<mailto:sduckworth at utah.gov>
Rep. Janice Fisher       janicefisher at utah.gov<mailto:janicefisher at utah.gov>
Rep. Lynn Hemingway           lhemingway at utah.gov<mailto:lhemingway at utah.gov>
Rep. Neal Hendrickson           nhendrickson at utah.gov<mailto:nhendrickson at utah.gov>
Rep. Brian King          briansking at utah.gov<mailto:briansking at utah.gov>
Rep. Marie H. Poulson   mariepoulson at utah.gov<mailto:mariepoulson at utah.gov>

Rep. Mark Wheatley   markwheatley at utah.gov<mailto:markwheatley at utah.gov>

Rep. Larry Wiley        lwiley at utah.gov<mailto:lwiley at utah.gov>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.uen.org/pipermail/library-media/attachments/20130315/fbbd96ea/attachment.html 

More information about the library-media mailing list