[library-media] Inform

sharyl smith sharylsmith at att.net
Tue Feb 22 23:11:22 MST 2011


To bring you up to date: 

The Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee's tentative budget includes 
$500,000 in ongoing funding for school library books and electronic resources, 
exactly what we asked for!  That's the good news.

However, the Subcommittee never voted on the budget, so it goes forward as an 
unofficial recommendation only. The Executive Appropriations Committee will 
consider the education budget next. Their next meeting is on Thursday, February 
24, at 5:15pm, Rm 210, in the Senate Building adjacent to the Capitol.

Now that the revenue forecast has been released today, we need to contact 
members of the Executive Appropriations Committee, who will consider the line 
item, as well as members of the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee, in 
case the budget is sent back to the Subcommittee. (When you email, put school 
libraries in the subject line and "constituent," if you are.

Please contact the legislators below to tell them what is accomplished in your 
school by providing resources through the school library. If legislators realize 
how important this funding is, you will have an impact. 

Friends and I have met with many legislators of the two groups, nearly all of 
the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee this year and many of the 
Executive Appropriations Committee. Add to these efforts with your email! 

I've learned that we have some very strong supportive voices among legislators, 
but we need to keep the momentum going. Your message doesn't have to be long. 
Please use your home computer.  

Many thanks!

Sharyl Smith

Executive Appropriations Committee
Rep. Melvin R. Brown, Chair
melbrown at utah.gov

Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard, Chair
lhillyard at utahsenate.org

Rep. John Dougall, Vice Chair
jdougall at utah.gov

Sen. Dennis E. Stowell, Vice Chair
dstowell at utahsenate.org

Rep. Brad L. Dee
bdee at utah.gov

Rep. Gregory H. Hughes
greghughes at utah.gov

Sen. Scott K. Jenkins
sjenkins at utahsenate.org

Sen. Patricia W. Jones
pjones at utahsenate.org

Rep. Brian S. King
briansking at utah.gov

Sen. Peter C. Knudson
pknudson at utahsenate.org
Rep. David Litvack
dlitvack at utah.gov
Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee Rep. Rebecca D. Lockhart
blockhart at utah.gov

Sen. Benjamin M. McAdams
bmcadams at utahsenate.org

Rep. Ronda Rudd Menlove
rmenlove at utah.gov

Sen. Karen W. Morgan
kmorgan at utahsenate.org

Sen. Wayne L. Niederhauser
wniederhauser at utahsenate.org

Sen. Ross I. Romero
rromero at utahsenate.org

Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig
jseelig at utah.gov

Sen. Michael G. Waddoups
waddoups at utahsenate.org

Rep. Christine F. Watkins
cwatkins at utah.gov
Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Chair
dcbuttars at utahsenate.org
Rep. Merlynn T. Newbold, Chair
merlynnnewbold at utah.gov

Rep. Kenneth W. Sumsion, Vice Chair
ksumsion at utah.gov

Sen. J. Stuart Adams
jsadams at utahsenate.org

Rep. LaVar Christensen
lavarchristensen at utah.gov

Rep. Tim M. Cosgrove
tcosgrove at utah.gov

Rep. Steve Eliason
seliason at utah.gov

Rep. Francis D. Gibson
fgibson at utah.gov

Rep. Stephen G. Handy
stevehandy at utah.gov stevehandy at utah.gov

Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard
lhillyard at utahsenate.org Rep. Ken Ivory
kivory at utah.gov

Sen. Mark B. Madsen
mmadsen at utahsenate.org
Sen. Karen W. Morgan 
kmorgan at utahsenate.org

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss
csmoss at utah.gov

Rep. Jim Nielson
jimnielson at utah.gov

Rep. Marie H. Poulson
mariepoulson at utah.gov

Sen. Howard A. Stephenson
hstephenson at utahsenate.org

Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher
dthatcher at utahsenate.org
Rep. Bill Wright
billwright at utah.gov 
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.uen.org/pipermail/library-media/attachments/20110222/e04f48cc/attachment-0001.html 

More information about the library-media mailing list