[Gis] Fwd: exciting mapping FREE application

Jessica Anderson janderson at uen.org
Thu Jul 2 14:36:02 MDT 2009



Begin forwarded message:

> From: Cindy Clark <cclark at utah.gov>
> Date: July 2, 2009 9:43:29 AM MDT
> To: Doug Andersen <Ande485 at Alpine.k12.ut.us>, Cody Spendlove <cspendlove at Alpine.k12.ut.us 
> >, Brandon Plewe <brandon_plewe at byu.edu>, Steve Haderlie <steven_haderlie at byu.edu 
> >, Cliff Craig <cbcraig at cc.usu.edu>, "Nick.Kryger at ci.slc.ut.us" <Nick.Kryger at ci.slc.ut.us 
> >, Jeni Siebeneck <jsieben at ci.west-valley.ut.us>, Banner Bonnie <bbanner at cnr.usu.edu 
> >, Kevin Sato <KSato at cottonwoodheights.utah.gov>, Ross Rogers <ross.rogers at csdapps.org 
> >, Keith Morris <kmorris at dcsd.org>, Brandon Thacker <bthacker at dsdmail.net 
> >, Don Cressall <dcressall at dsdmail.net>, Norma Jean Remington <nremington at dsdmail.net 
> >, David Francis <dfrancis at ext.usu.edu>, Phoebe McNeally <phoebe.mcneally at geog.utah.edu 
> >, Bill Walker <bill.walker at granite.k12.ut.us>, Bonnie Muir <bonnie.muir at jordan.k12.ut.us 
> >, Margo Shirley <margo.shirley at jordan.k12.ut.us>, Mark Sowa <mark.sowa at jordan.k12.ut.us 
> >, Jim Langston <jlangston at m.tooele.k12.ut.us>, Shelia Powell <geoqueen1 at msn.com 
> >, Bob Earl <rde747 at msn.com>, bob manley <rnmjr1951 at msn.com>, Robert  
> Gordon <RGordon at nues.k12.ut.us>, Lloyd Blackburn Lloyd Blackburn <lloyd_blackburn at q.com 
> >, Marc Weyerstall <Marc.Weyerstall at redbutte.utah.edu>, Robert  
> Austin <robert.austin at schools.utah.gov>, Pat Lambrose <pat.lambrose at slc.k12.ut.us 
> >, David Davis <david.davis at slc.usda.gov>, Robert Dastrup <Robert.Dastrup at slcc.edu 
> >, Tammy Wambeam <tamara.wambeam at slcgov.com>, David Maxwell <maxwell at suu.edu 
> >, Jessica Anderson <janderson at uen.org>, Ken Berg <KENBERG at utah.gov>
> Cc: "demetrio.zourarakis at ky.gov" <Demetrio.Zourarakis at ky.gov>, Stan  
> Hovey <sshovey at verizon.net>
> Subject: exciting mapping FREE application
>
> Hello all, I attended the Geography Alliance Board meeting last  
> night and left all excited to be working with teachers again.   
> Haven't been around them lately, and really needed the meeting.
>
> This morning, totally from a different project and source I received  
> a link to a very cool map making site.  Now many of you may already  
> know about this site, some may not, I thought for teachers that are  
> trying to teach geography, geospatial relationships, and just plain  
> map making, THIS IS ONE COOL SITE!!
>
> At first I thought it was a purchase application, but I finally  
> realized all I had to do was register and I could start making  
> maps.  It looks like it will accept shapefiles, kmls,  and GeoRSS  
> files.  This means all the data in the SGID can be used in this  
> application.  The basemap works with NASA imagery, Google basemap,  
> Yahoo basemap, and lots of other data.  I only worked with it for  
> about 5 minutes so I didn't have time to totally investigate the  
> site.  It is called Geocommons and here is the URL http://maker.geocommons.com/ 
> .  Have fun!
>
> There were many geography teachers at the meeting last night, that  
> will not receive this email, because I don't have their email in the  
> Coalition group.  Could you forward this to all and any other  
> teacher the is "spatial".
>
> If I am soo..... behind in sites like this, and you already knew  
> about it, then I want to know why you guys didn't tell me!
>
> Happy map making.
> Cindy

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.uen.org/pipermail/gis/attachments/20090702/5fca2853/attachment.html 


More information about the GIS mailing list